Lizzloves's Blog

Spreading love and sisterhood…

LizzLoves…summer camp! July 9, 2009

Filed under: cool orgs,de mi mente — lizzloves @ 3:13 pm

summer campAs corny as it may sound, I still miss summer camp. I always know when camp season comes around by a smell in the air. It’s leaves, earth, chilly mornings that get burned off to turn into hot, breezy afternoons.  I even start to hum old camp songs in the shower *blush*.

I went to an all-girls camp in NJ called Camp Nyoda for two summers. That doesn’t seem like very long, but it left a lasting impression on me.  I had plenty of friends before I went to camp, but Nyoda was my first experience of sisterhood and girl power. I can honestly say it shaped who I am today.

I always say that I wish every girl could have the chance to go away for a few weeks of the summer to camp (unless she hates nature!). I know that I was blessed to have that chance. I recently discovered this awesome organization called Girls Quest. They raise money to send hundreds of girls from NYC to summer camps every year.

I can just imagine them packing now, getting excited and nervous about the new friends they will make…

http://www.girlsquest.org/

 

2 Responses to “LizzLoves…summer camp!”

  1. Marian Says:

    You should start your own girl’s camp. You’d be great!

  2. […] Girls Quest sends hundreds of girls from the New York City area to summer camp every year. Read more about them in this previous LizzLoves post. […]


Leave a Reply

