Lizzloves's Blog

Spreading love and sisterhood…

LizzLoves…Healing Yoga March 7, 2010

Filed under: badass women,cool orgs,inspirational — lizzloves @ 10:32 pm
Tags: , ,

I’ve been dying for years to try yoga, but,  for some reason, I never made the leap. So, finally, a few weeks ago, I got up the nerve to try a Sunday morning class at my gym called “Gentle Yoga.” Just the name alone told me that I had a good chance at having a rewarding experience.

Well, let me tell you, I am a convert. I don’t know if I will ever be a hardcore yogi, but I will definitely be practicing yoga from now on. When I thought about trying it before, I think I was afraid that I wouldn’t be strong or graceful enough. But, oddly, as the teacher guided us through each pose, I felt powerful and peaceful at the same time. In my head, I  actually found myself saying “I’m strong, I can do this.” So, now I know the beautiful effects of yoga!

So, when my friend recently sent me this article on yoga therapy, it wasn’t too much of a stretch for me to see how yoga could profoundly affect people who need healing.  The article talked about how Deidre Summerbell is teaching yoga to women in Rwanda who are survivors of rape and other forms of trauma.  Yoga has proved invaluable in their emotional and physical healing processes. Click here to read more about how yoga is changing women in Rwanda.

 

2 Responses to “LizzLoves…Healing Yoga”

  1. Paula Says:

    I am so glad to hear that you discovered yoga therapy. This is something that I do for a living and love to hear stories like this. Check out my blog to see more stories about how yoga can benefit and heal you. Take care and keep it up!


Leave a Reply

