Lizzloves's Blog

Spreading love and sisterhood…

LizzLoves…Natural Hair March 24, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lizzloves @ 1:18 am

I will totally be revisiting this subject because there is so much to say. But I wanted to share this great article/blog entry by Michel Martin on NPR.org.  She breaks down why touching a woman’s hair–especially a woman of color–is a big no-no.

I feel her. There have been many a time when random women (coworkers or even strangers on the street) have reached out to touch my hair without asking (“Oh it’s so pretty…” *reaching for my curls*). There are some days I have patience for it and other days that I want to bend back like Neo from the Matrix to avoid it.

Have you been through this?

See what Michel had to say here.

 

Leave a Reply

